4 Comments

So as one of the “listen later” crowd, I thought I’d provide a couple observations about the new format as you and Nick keep working on it.

1. It was really fun to listen to, so on the whole that’s a big win. I thought perhaps you got turned by the chat a little too early for me? Not that chat wasn’t on point, but I like some of the sustained observations from you and Nick to maybe be a little longer off the top? We’ll see how that develops.

2. I thought audio quality was generally fine, but were you using a different mic than usual, Andrew? I listened back to an old ep to be sure, and I would say today wasn’t as rich a sound on your mic. Nick sounded pretty much the same to me. This is not a huge deal, really, but I thought it might be something worth noting.

3. The calls were good and on point, so as a “listen later” guy it still did feel like a full pod. I do think that’s important to what you guys are trying to do. I just hope that the new format will allow some of that sustained analysis you customarily provide. Caller questions are unpredictable, so it’s worth it to see if there is a reason to have that “wrap-up” where you cover the in-depth analysis after the callers if you feel you haven’t covered something. That would be welcome for the people still listening like it’s a normal pod.

4. Regrettably, a completely shameful display from the callers that no one said “long time first time” at the start of them being on the air. What are we even doing here, folks?!

Hope this long-winded response provides something of value, Andrew. Looking forward to this continuing as an exciting new format.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much for your feedback man. Really appreciate it, and glad it worked well for you! You’re right that my mic was different — the normal one needs a different adapter to go into my phone than I currently have. Will fix that in short order, but in the meantime I think I can get some better placement on the one I’ve got. Will work on it!

Expand full comment

That was great! I really hope this takes off for you guys and I (we) appreciate the effort and your insights. I'm looking forward to chatting more. I just hope I don't turn into one of the old Wilner Jays talk tragics.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much man. Glad you joined in! We weren’t sure what to expect and were both really pleased with how it went. I think/hope people will get into these as the season goes on!

Expand full comment